Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
greetings!
Hello all, complete newbie to Play by mail, with the exception of Chess, which I played for years, but expand my horizons.
Greetings zedwardson and welcome!
Nobody ever catches Nuth.
Unseen Servant PbP gaming
Welcome aboard, Zedwardson!
Greetings! There are a number of gaming choices around here. Are you interested in any particular flavor?
I think my main interests are

1. RPGs type gaming
2. 4x gaming
3. Making new games
(03-23-2021, 02:11 AM)zedwardson Wrote: I think my main interests are

1.  RPGs type gaming
2. 4x gaming
3.  Making new games

Try checking out the older PBM Wiki or more recently the Suspense & Decision Game Index for a list of games that are still around. For my part, I run Galac-Tac which is a space-based 4X game, and until the end of the month I'm giving away a year's free COVID play time. Perhaps you might like to try it out (starting with "solo" practice games), or sign up for any of the other game platforms that you may find interesting.
(03-23-2021, 02:11 AM)zedwardson Wrote: I think my main interests are

1.  RPGs type gaming
2. 4x gaming
3.  Making new games

Welcome to the addiction!  You are in for a treat!  In my opinion, PBM (play by mail) gaming can be a wonderful gaming outlet for people who crave a deeper style of game.  An added benefit is the asynchronous aspect...it can take several weeks between turns giving those of us with time constraints plenty of time to carefully analyze the turn results.  Sadly, this asynchronous aspect can be a huge drawback if you are not a patient person.

That being said, here are my recommendations for games to try (based on your interests)...
1. RPG - "The Isles" by Roy Pollard of Wyvern Games.  I have not personally played this game, but I have seen a sample turn.  This is a "hand moderated" game with an amazing RPG flavor.  As of this writing, Roy plans to accept new players in (roughly) one month's time.